Current and upcoming projects..

'Black' Ink, acrylic and salt on 5x5" wood

‘Black’ Ink, acrylic and salt on 5×5″ wood

A painting created last year in response to Bulgari’s perfume Black

As I’m in between painting projects for the next couple of weeks (preparing for trips to Lindisfarne then Eigg) I’ve been writing about my other love – perfume!

My recent article about perfume and perceptions can be viewed Here

Did you know that sniffing perfume and remembering/identifying its notes can help prevent dementia? Also, it’s interesting to explore the ways that different cultures perceive or use perfume. This article only touches on these subjects, but you might also be interested to know that the Museum of Art and Design (MAD) in New York, now has a permanent olfactory curator, more info Here

I’ll be posting more info about upcoming art projects on Lindisfarne and Eigg in the next few weeks. ..

holy_island_largeFirstly, I’ll be on Eigg from the 6th of September to explore creative collaborations with islanders. Then in mid to late September I hope to be briefly visiting Lindisfarne with Jennifer L Williams and Atzi Muramatsu, where we’ll be seeking inspiration for artworks, music and poetry in response to the island.

 

Visual arts-wise, it’ll be a mini version of the 50 paintings of Eigg project, with ten 5×5 inch paintings of the island, and of course time and availability willing, Jennifer and Atzi will be producing poetry and music too.

The plan is to present this as exhibition and event in October (I’ll post updates on this blog of course).

Following on from the September Eigg trip, I’ll be waiting to see if a funding application has been successful, which will allow for a more collaborative and inclusive exhibition about the Isle of Eigg, where I’ll be collaborating with Eigg Box and other artists/musicians/writers, to be launched at the Scottish Storytelling Centre in March 2015.

I hope everyone’s having a lovely summer. Speaking for myself, I can’t wait to be back on the beautiful Islands of Eigg in the west and Lindisfarne on the east coast..

 

Leave a Reply

