‘Eigg Island’ Exhibition Launch and Event

P1090818banner final

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m pleased to announce the up-coming Eigg Island exhibition launch and event!

 

 

This will be held at the Scottish Storytelling Centre, High Street Edinburgh on the 26th March at 7pm (All details on this link – Eigg Island Exhibition and Event )

The larger image above is a photo I took while on the Isle of Eigg, of a map which was faded and weather-worn. The text and image were barely discernible beneath the rain-washed, sun-bleached surface. I wasn’t sure at the time why I was drawn to the image, and I’m still not entirely sure! Except that it echoes the process of ‘discovering’ an island and the way its landscape and people gradually become more familiar.

These maps will be the inspiration behind the next series of paintings, although I’m not sure as yet what the process will be. The paintings will be titled West, North, East and South and they’ll represent my experience of Eigg over the past year.

I’m delighted that Atzi Muramatsu (Cellist/Composer) and Jennifer L Williams (Poet) will be collaborating with me again on this project. The exhibition will also include craft-makers from Eigg, a photographer and a song-writer from Edinburgh. (These last two are tbc so I will add more info once confirmed).

I hope you can come along to the launch evening on the 26th March, it’ll be a wonderful evening with debut performances to celebrate the launch of the exhibition! Also the exhibition continues until 21st April and the gallery is open from 10 – 6pm daily

In the meantime, this short video shows a collaboration, between myself, Jennifer and Atzi, of paintings, poetry and music inspired by Eigg..

One thought on “‘Eigg Island’ Exhibition Launch and Event

  1. Pingback: New paintings | Rose Strang Artworks

Leave a Reply

